Call Today!
Golan Law, P.C.
Protecting Employee Rights In Los Angeles And Southern California

How California law regulates the timing of worker pay

On Behalf of | Mar 10, 2022 | Wage And Hour |

California has very strict laws regarding worker pay. Many people are aware of things like the minimum wage and when overtime applies. However, some people don’t realize that the state law also covers when employees need to be paid.

There are a few exceptions to these laws. However, the vast majority of employees are covered by them.

When must employees be paid?

Employees have to be paid at least twice per month. This means that weekly and biweekly payments are allowable. Employees who are paid biweekly must be paid no more than seven days after end of the payroll period unless the company uses a system that runs from the 1st to the 15th and from the 16th to the end of the month. In that case, the pay periods must be by the 10th and 26th of each month.

What happens when an employee is terminated or quits?

Employees who are terminated have to be paid at the time of their termination. Those who quit have to be paid within 72 hours unless they provided a notice of at least 72 hours. Individuals who gave a notice of at least 72 hours must be paid immediately when they leave work the final time.

All workers have a right to be paid the wages they earned during the pay period. There are times when employers might try to shortchange the employees. Some employers might not pay them on time. These are violations of the law that should be handled swiftly. Any worker who’s being subjected to those types of situations should learn their options so they can get the wages they’ve earned.